The Music Man is traditional musical with plenty of toe-tapping numbers and memorable characters. It tells the story of con-man Harold Hill, who poses as a band leader and sells band instruments and uniforms to naïve townsfolk before skipping town with the cash. In River City, Iowa, prim librarian and piano teacher Marian Paroo sees through him, but when Harold helps her younger brother overcome his fear of social interactions due to his lisp, Marian begins to fall in love with Harold.

The show became a hit on Broadway in 1957 and went on to win 5 Tony Awards, including 'Best Musica'l. It's soundtrack was also very popular, winning the first Grammy for 'Best Original Cast Album'.

It has been adapted to film twice, once in 1962 starring Robert  Preston and again in 2003 starring Matthew Broderick.

The Cast

Harold Hill - Matthew Austin
Marian Paroo - Megan Abbott
Winthrop - Cameron Lewis
Mrs Paroo - Rachel Marshall
Marcellus - Matthew Kerslake
Mayor Shinn - Steve Brooks
Olin Britt - Ian Ding
Oliver Hix - Mike Cooke
Ewart Dunlop - Hugh Pearce
Jacey Squires - James Golder
Charlie Cowell - David Brammer
Eulalie - Irene Whitehouse
Alam Hix - Gemma Laing
Maud Dunlop - Jenny Lewis
Ethel Tofflemier - Jane Pearce
Mrs Squires - Monica Aubrey-Jones
Tommy Djilas - Daniel Wagg
Zaneeta Shinn - Amy Kent
Gracie Shinn - Georgia Smith
Amaryllis - Jenny Read
Conductor - Bertie Ellison
Mrs Britt - Karen Girdwood
Constable - Mark Girdwood

River City Townspeople

Hayley Hewitt
Leslie Judd
Brian Turner
Julie Turner

River City Teens

Katy Beeton
Lucy Beeton
Tigger Ellison
Ellie Fradley
William Johnson
Emily Marshall
Kathryn Marshall
Anna Pearson
Ethan Robsinson
Sophie Sharp

River City Children

Emma Aubrey-Jones
Lucy Bearpark
Cerys Brooks
Kyle Elflett
Dominic King
Alice Oakley
Ella Webb
Lucy White

The Crew

Director - Penny Cooke
Choreographer - Penny Cooke
Musical Director - Kate Mould
Production Assistant - Debbie Hiles
Light and Sound Technician - Barry Ayres
Set Designer - Matthew Austin
Stage Manager - Seamus Power
Backstage Crew - Richard Bennett, Mark Girdwood and Debbie Hiles
Publicity - Megan Abbott
Adverts - Kate Oldfield
Box Office - Kate and Chip Carpenter
Transport Manager - Terry Cook
Front of House Manager - Cyril Pike
Front of House Team - Friends and members of the society
Bar - Nerys Brooks

The Orchestra

Piano - Kate Mould
Reed 1 - Lisa Verrinder
Reed 2 - Gary Bearpark
Trumpet - Malcolm Green
Trombone - Tammy Horscroft
Drums  - Colin Mason and Katrina Barrow